On December 13, 1991, the members of the National Conference of Catholic Bishops of the United States of America made the following general decree concerning holy days of obligation for Latin Rite Catholics:

In addition to Sunday, the days to be observed as holy days of obligation in the Latin Rite dioceses of the United States of America, in conformity with canon 1246, are as follows:

January 1

7th Sunday of Easter *for the Diocese of Peoria

August 15

November 1

December 8

December 25

The Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God

The Solemnity of the Ascension

The Solemnity of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary

The Solemnity of All Saints

The Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception

The Solemnity of the Nativity of Our Lord Jesus Christ