Holy days

Holy days of obligation are feast days on which Catholics are required to attend Mass and to avoid (to the extent that they are able) servile work. The observance of Holy Days of Obligation is part of the Sunday Duty, the first of the Precepts of the Church. There are currently ten Holy Days of Obligation in the Latin Rite of the Catholic Church; in the United States, only six Holy Days of Obligation are observed. Those six are identified below.


Easter Sunday

Sunday, March 27, 2016

Divine Mercy Sunday

Sunday, April 3, 2016


Thursday, May 5, 2016

Holy Day of Obligation

transferred to

Sunday, May 8, 2016

in most U. S. dioceses

Pentecost Sunday

Sunday, May 15, 2016

Trinity Sunday

Sunday, May 22, 2016

Corpus Christi

Thursday, May 26, 2016

transferred to

Sunday, May 29, 2016

Sacred Heart of Jesus

Friday, June 3, 2016

Assumption of Mary

Monday, August 15, 2016

Holy Day of Obligation (abrogated)

All Saints Day

Tuesday, November 1, 2016


St. Patrick Catholic Church of Merna, 1001 North Towanda Barnes Road, Bloomington, IL 61705
Parish Office: (309)662-7361    Parish Fax: (309)664-6167
Site designed and developed by Digital Transformations
Copyright 2018 by St. Patrick Catholic Church of Merna
Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |